University of Connecticut University of UC Title Fallback Connecticut

School of Fine ArtsMusic Department

Early Music Links

This list is meant as a starting point for UConn students and friends and is focused on U.S. organizations and ensembles based in Connecticut, New York, Rhode Island, and Massachusetts. Please feel free to email the director with suggested additions.

Guides to Medieval and Renaissance Instruments

http://www.music.iastate.edu/antiqua/instrumt.html
http://www.zzounds.com/edu–renaissancemusic
http://www.celtic-weddingrings.com/celtic-music-guide-medieval-instruments.aspx

New England Early Music Events

http://www.medieval.org/emfaq/concerts/bemn/

National Early Music Societies

Early Music America – https://www.earlymusicamerica.org/
Medieval Music and Arts Foundation – http://www.medieval.org/

Connecticut-Based Ensembles and Organizations

Alta Wind Trio – http://www.altawindtrio.org
Connecticut Early Music Festival – http://www.ctearlymusic.org/
Ensemble Origo – http://ensembleorigo.org/
Fanfare Consort – http://www.fanfareconsort.com

Boston-Based Ensembles and Organizations

Amherst Early Music – http://www.amherstearlymusic.org/
Blue Heron – http://www.blueheronchoir.org/
Boston Camerata – http://www.bostoncamerata.com/
Boston Early Music Festival – http://www.bemf.org/
Capella Alamire – http://www.unh.edu/music/alamire/
Church of the Advent – http://www.theadvent.org/music/choirs.htm
Exsultemus – http://www.exsultemus.org/
Handel and Haydn Society – http://www.handelandhaydn.org/
SoHIP – Society for Historically Informed Performance – http://www.sohipboston.org/

New York-Based Ensembles and Organizations

ARTEK – http://www.artekearlymusic.org/
Lionheart – http://www.chantboy.com/lionheart/
Music Before 1800 – http://www.mb1800.org/
New York Collegium – http://www.nycollegium.com
Pomerium – http://www.pomerium.com/
Polyphony.com – http://www.polyphony.com/polyphony.asp
Saint Thomas Fifth Avenue – http://www.saintthomaschurch.org/
Waverly Consort – http://www.waverlyconsort.org/
WBAI’s “Here Of A Sunday Morning” – http://www.hoasm.org/

Other East Coast Ensembles

Piffaro – http://www.piffaro.com/

Instrumental Societies

American Recorder Society – http://www.americanrecorder.org/
Historic Brass Society – http://www.historicbrass.org/
Lute Society of America – http://www.cs.dartmouth.edu/~lsa/index.html 
Viola da Gamba Society – http://vdgsa.org/