Faculty & Staff

ADMINISTRATION


Eric Rice, PhD

Eric Rice

Department Head
Professor of Music History
Director of Collegium Musicum

eric.rice@uconn.edu
(860) 486-3728

Louis Hanzlik, EdD

Louis Hanzlik

Coordinator of Brass & Percussion
Associate Department Head for Graduate Studies
Professor of Trumpet
louis.hanzlik@uconn.edu
(860) 486-4287

John Mastroianni, MA

John Mastroianni

Assistant Professor in Residence of Jazz Studies
Director of UConn Jazz Ensemble
Associate Department Head for Undergraduate Studies
john.mastroianni@uconn.edu
(860) 486-4796

Abigail Golec, MA

Abigail Golec, MA

Theater Operations Manager
von der Mehden Recital Hall
abigail.golec@uconn.edu
86-486-2969

APPLIED FACULTY - INSTRUMENTAL


Brass & Percussion

 

Louis Hanzlik, EdD

Louis Hanzlik

Coordinator of Brass & Percussion
Associate Department Head for Graduate Studies
Professor of Trumpet
louis.hanzlik@uconn.edu
(860) 486-4287

James Jackson, MM

James Jackson

Instructor of Euphonium
james.jackson@uconn.edu
(860) 486-5562

Matthew Russo, DMA

Matthew Russo

Instructor of Trombone
matthew.f.russo@uconn.edu
(860) 486-5562

Rob McEwan

Rob McEwan

Instructor of Percussion
robert.mcewan@uconn.edu

Gary Sienkiewicz, MM

Gary Sienkiewicz

Instructor of Tuba
gary.sienkiewicz@uconn.edu

Barbara Hill, MM

Barbara Hill, MM

Instructor of Horn
barbara.a.hill@uconn.edu

Keyboard

 

Angelina Gadeliya, DMA

Angelina Gadeliya, DMA

Coordinator of Keyboard Studies
Assistant Professor in Residence of Piano
angelina.gadeliya@uconn.edu
(860) 486-4758

Kenneth Clark, BM

Kenneth Clark, BM

Instructor of Piano
kenneth.clark@uconn.edu

Angela Salcedo, DMA

Angela Salcedo, DMA

Instructor of Organ
angelasalcedo@glastonburyfirst.org

Strings

 

Solomiya Ivakhiv, DMA

Solomiya Ivakhiv, DMA

Coordinator of Strings
Associate Professor of Violin and Viola
solomiya.ivakhiv@uconn.edu
(860) 486-4749

Steve Bulmer, MM

Steve Bulmer, MM

Steven Bulmer, MM
Instructor of Bass
Director of Jazz Combos
steve.bulmer@uconn.edu

Sophie Shao, MM

Sophie Shao, MM

Assistant Professor of Cello
Instructor of String Techniques
sophie.shao@uconn.edu
(860) 486-1617

Megan Sesma, MM

Megan Sesma

Instructor of Harp

Woodwinds

Curt Blood, BM

Curt Blood

Instructor of Clarinet
curt.blood@uconn.edu
860-486-5474

Naomi Senzer, MM

Naomi Senzer

Instructor of Flute
naomi.senzer@uconn.edu
(860) 486-6446

Leah Bedard, MM

Leah Bedard

Instructor of Oboe
leah.bedard@uconn.edu

Brooke Allen

Brooke Allen

Instructor of Bassoon
brooke.allen@uconn.edu

Greg Case, MA

Greg Case

Instructor of Saxophone
greg.case@uconn.edu
(860) 486-4664

APPLIED FACULTY - VOCAL STUDIES


Constance Rock, DMA

Constance Rock

Associate Professor of Voice
Coordinator of Applied Vocal Studies
constance.rock@uconn.edu
(860) 486-4267

Rod Nelman

Rod Nelman

Associate Professor of Voice
rod.nelman@uconn.edu
(860) 486-4856

Greg Zavracky, DMA

Greg Zavracky

Instructor of Voice
gregory.zavracky@uconn.edu
(860) 486-4781

Mark Womack

Mark Womack

Instructor of Voice
mark.womack@uconn.edu
(860) 486-4781

Meredith Ziegler, MM

Meredith Ziegler

Instructor of Voice
meredith.ziegler@uconn.edu
(860) 486-4251

Dmitriy Glivinskiy, MM

 Dmitriy Glivinskiy, MM

Assistant Professor in Residence
Music Director of Opera and Staff Pianist
Dmitriy.Glivinskiy@uconn.edu

CONDUCTING & ENSEMBLE FACULTY


Ricardo Brown, MEd

Ricardo Brown

Assistant Professor in Residence
Associate Director of Athletic Bands
ricardo.t.brown@uconn.edu
(860) 486-5437

André Raphel, MM

Andre Raphel

Assistant Professor of Music
Director of Symphony Orchestra

andre.raphel@uconn.edu
(860) 486-6455

Janet Kim, DMA

Janet Kim

Assistant Professor of Music
Director of Wind Ensemble

janet.kim@uconn.edu
(860) 486-2164

Lisa Clayton, MM

Lisa Clayton

Director of Voices of Freedom Gospel Choir
revlisaclayton@hotmail.com

Eric Rice, PhD

Eric Rice

Department Head
Associate Professor of Music History
Director of Collegium Musicum

eric.rice@uconn.edu
(860) 486-3728

Jessica Von Villas Dickerson, MM

Jessica Von Villas Dickerson

Assistant Professor in Residence
Assistant Director & Program Coordinator of Athletic Bands

jessica.von_villas@uconn.edu
(860) 486-5908

Jamie Spillane, DMA

Jamie Spillane

Associate Professor of Music
Director of Choral Studies
jamie.spillane@uconn.edu
(860) 486-2562

JAZZ FACULTY


Earl MacDonald, MM

Earl MacDonald

Professor of Music
Director of Jazz Studies
earl.macdonald@uconn.edu
(860) 486-0670

Sean Nelson, MA

Sean Nelson, MA

Instructor of Jazz Trombone

Christopher Morrison, MM

Christopher Morrison, MM

Instructor of Guitar
Director of Jazz Combos
christopher.morrison@uconn.edu

John Mastroianni, MA

John Mastroianni

Assistant Professor in Residence of Jazz Studies
Director of UConn Jazz Ensemble
john.mastroianni@uconn.edu
(860) 486-4796

Jonathan Barber

Jonathan Barber

Instructor of Jazz Drum Set

Steve Bulmer, MM

Steve Bulmer, MM

Steven Bulmer, MM
Instructor of Bass
Director of Jazz Combos
steve.bulmer@uconn.edu

ACADEMIC FACULTY


Joseph Abramo, EdD

Joseph Abramo, EdD

Assistant Professor of Music Education
joseph.abramo@uconn.edu
(860) 486-2561

Kenneth Fuchs, DMA

Kenneth Fuchs, DMA

Professor of Music Composition
kenneth.fuchs@uconn.edu
(860) 486-4711

Ronald Squibbs, PhD

Ronald Squibbs

Associate Professor of Music Theory
ronald.squibbs@uconn.edu
860-486-2478

Stefanie Acevedo, PhD

Stefanie Acevedo

Assistant Professor of Music Theory
stefanie.acevedo@uconn.edu

Cara Bernard, EdD

Cara Bernard, EdD

Assistant Clinical Professor of Music Education
cara.bernard@uconn.edu
(860) 486-2561

Alain Frogley, DPhil

Alain Frogley

Coordinator of Graduate Studies
Professor of Music History
alain.frogley@uconn.edu
(860) 486-4783

Daniel Goldberg, PhD

Daniel Goldberg, PhD

Assistant Professor in Residence of Music Theory
daniel.goldberg@uconn.edu
860-486-5374

Eric Rice, PhD

Eric Rice

Department Head
Professor of Music History
Director of Collegium Musicum

eric.rice@uconn.edu
(860) 486-3728

REGIONAL CAMPUS FACULTY


Kirsten Peterson

Kirsten Peterson

Heather DeSavage, PhD

Heather DeSavage, PhD

Adjunct Professor
heather.desavage@uconn.edu
(860) 486-3971

Daniel Salazar Jr.

Daniel Salazar Jr.

Christopher Shay, MMT

Christopher Shay, MMT

Adjunct Professor
christopher.shay@uconn.edu
(203) 592-8659

EMERITUS FACULTY


Theodore Arm, DMA

Oak Leaf

Professor Emeritus of Music
theodore.arm@uconn.edu

Richard Bass, PhD

Richard Bass, PhD

Professor Emeritus of Music Theory
richard.bass@uconn.edu

Jeffrey Renshaw, DMA

Jeffrey Renshaw

Professor Emeritus of Wind Ensemble and Conducting
jeffrey.renshaw@uconn.edu

Bob Stephens, PhD

Bob Stephens

Professor Emeritus of Music
robert.stephens@uconn.edu

David Mills, PhD

David Mills

Professor of Music
Director of Bands
david.mills@uconn.edu
(860) 486-2165

Peter Bagley, DM

Oak Leaf

Professor Emeritus of Music
peter.bagley@uconn.edu

Daniel Patrylak

Oak Leaf

Professor Emeritus of Music
daniel.patrylak@uconn.edu

Glenn Stanley, PhD

Glenn Stanley

Professor Emeritus of Music History
glenn.stanley@uconn.edu

Peter Kaminsky, PhD

Peter Kaminsky

Professor Emeritus of Music Theory
peter.kaminsky@uconn.edu

Mary Ellen Junda, EdD

Mary Ellen Junda

Professor of Music
mary.junda@uconn.edu