Faculty & Staff

ADMINISTRATION


Eric Rice, PhD

Eric Rice

Department Head
Associate Professor of Music History
Director of Collegium Musicum

eric.rice@uconn.edu
(860) 486-3728

Ronald Squibbs, PhD

Ronald Squibbs

Associate Professor of Music Theory
Associate Department Head for Graduate Studies
ronald.squibbs@uconn.edu
(860) 486-2478

Melanie Chebro

Melanie Chebro

Business Manager
melanie.chebro@uconn.edu
(860) 486-3730

Peter Kaminsky, PhD

Peter Kaminsky

Professor of Music Theory
Associate Department Head for Undergraduate Studies
peter.kaminsky@uconn.edu
(860) 486-2758

Jessye McShee, MA

Jessye McShee

Program Assistant
jessye.richmond@uconn.edu
music@uconn.edu
(860) 486-3728

Kirk Matson, BA

Kirk Matson

Theater Production Manager, von der Mehden Recital Hall
kirk.matson@uconn.edu
(860) 486 -2969

APPLIED FACULTY - INSTRUMENTAL


Brass & Percussion

 

Louis Hanzlik, EdD

Louis Hanzlik

Coordinator of Brass & Percussion
Associate Professor of Trumpet

louis.hanzlik@uconn.edu
(860) 486-4287

Bob Hoyle

Bob Hoyle

Instructor of Horn
robert.hoyle@uconn.edu

Rob McEwan

Rob McEwan

Instructor of Percussion
robert.mcewan@uconn.edu

Gary Sienkiewicz, MM

Gary Sienkiewicz

Instructor of Tuba
gary.sienkiewicz@uconn.edu

David Dion, MA

David Dion

Instructor of Percussion Techniques

James Jackson, MM

James Jackson

Instructor of Euphonium
james.jackson@uconn.edu
(860) 486-5562

Matthew Russo, DMA

Matthew Russo

Instructor of Trombone
matthew.f.russo@uconn.edu
(860) 486-5562

Keyboard

 

Angelina Gadeliya, DMA

Angelina Gadeliya, DMA

Coordinator of Keyboard Studies
Assistant Professor in Residence of Piano
angelina.gadeliya@uconn.edu
(860) 486-4758

Kenneth Clark, BM

Kenneth Clark, BM

Instructor of Piano
kenneth.clark@uconn.edu

Angela Salcedo, DMA

Angela Salcedo, DMA

Instructor of Organ
angelasalcedo@glastonburyfirst.org

Allan Conway, BM

Allan Conway, BM

Pianist/Accompanist
allan.conway@uconn.edu

Strings

 

Solomiya Ivakhiv, DMA

Solomiya Ivakhiv, DMA

Coordinator of Strings
Assistant Professor of Violin and Viola
solomiya.ivakhiv@uconn.edu
(860) 486-4749

Sophie Shao, MM

Sophie Shao, MM

Assistant Professor of Cello
Instructor of String Techniques
sophie.shao@uconn.edu
(860) 486-1617

Gregg August, MA

Gregg August

Instructor of String Bass
Director of Jazz Combos

gregg.august@uconn.edu

Megan Sesma, MM

Megan Sesma

Instructor of Harp

Woodwinds

Vu Nguyen, DMA

Vu Nguyen

Assistant Professor of Music
Coordinator of Woodwinds

vu.nguyen@uconn.edu
(860) 486-2162

Curt Blood, BM

Curt Blood

Instructor of Clarinet
curt.blood@uconn.edu
860-486-5474

Naomi Senzer, MM

Naomi Senzer

Instructor of Flute
naomi.senzer@uconn.edu
(860) 486-6446

Brooke Allen

Brooke Allen

Instructor of Bassoon

Greg Case, MA

Greg Case

Instructor of Saxophone
greg.case@uconn.edu
(860) 486-4664

Heather Taylor, MM

Heather Taylor

Instructor of Oboe
hwtoboe@gmail.com
(860) 486-6446

APPLIED FACULTY - VOCAL STUDIES


Constance Rock, DMA

Constance Rock

Associate Professor of Voice
Coordinator of Applied Vocal Studies
constance.rock@uconn.edu
(860) 486-4267

Brett Hodgdon,DMA

Brett Hodgdon

UConn Opera Theater Musical Director
Instructor of Diction & Vocal Literature
brett.hodgdon@uconn.edu

Mark Womack

Mark Womack

Instructor of Voice
mark.womack@uconn.edu
(860) 486-4781

Meredith Ziegler, MM

Meredith Ziegler

Instructor of Voice
meredith.ziegler@uconn.edu
(860) 486-4251

Michelle Hendrick, MFA

Michelle Hendrick

UConn Opera Theater Stage Director
michelle.hendrick@trincoll.edu

Rod Nelman

Rod Nelman

Assistant Professor of Voice
rod.nelman@uconn.edu
(860) 486-4856

Greg Zavracky, DMA

Greg Zavracky

Instructor of Voice
gregory.zavracky@uconn.edu
(860) 486-4781

CONDUCTING & ENSEMBLE FACULTY


Ricardo Brown, MEd

Ricardo Brown

Assistant Professor in Residence
Associate Director of Athletic Bands
ricardo.t.brown@uconn.edu
(860) 486-5437

Mary Ellen Junda, EdD

Mary Ellen Junda

Professor of Music
mary.junda@uconn.edu

David Mills, PhD

David Mills

Professor of Music
Director of Bands
david.mills@uconn.edu
(860) 486-2165

Vu Nguyen, DMA

Vu Nguyen

Assistant Professor of Music
Coordinator of Woodwinds
vu.nguyen@uconn.edu
(860) 486-2162

Jamie Spillane, DMA

Jamie Spillane

Associate Professor of Music
Director of Choral Studies
jamie.spillane@uconn.edu
(860) 486-2562

Lisa Clayton, MM

Lisa Clayton

Director of Voices of Freedom Gospel Choir
revlisaclayton@hotmail.com

Jun Lee, DMA

Jun Lee

Director of Festival Chorus
jun.2.lee@uconn.edu

Paul McShee, DMA

Paul McShee

Visiting Assistant Professor
Director of Orchestral Studies
paul.mcshee@uconn.edu
(860) 486-6455

Eric Rice, PhD

Eric Rice

Department Head
Associate Professor of Music History
Director of Collegium Musicum
eric.rice@uconn.edu
(860) 486-3728

Jessica Von Villas Dickerson, MM

Jessica Von Villas Dickerson

Assistant Professor in Residence
Assistant Director & Program Coordinator of Athletic Bands

jessica.von_villas@uconn.edu
(860) 486-5908

JAZZ FACULTY


Earl MacDonald, MM

Earl MacDonald

Professor of Music
Director of Jazz Studies
earl.macdonald@uconn.edu
(860) 486-0670

Doug Maher, MM

Doug Maher

Instructor of Guitar
Director of Jazz Combos
doug.maher@uconn.edu

Sean Nelson, MA

Sean Nelson, MA

Instructor of Jazz Trombone

Gregg August, MA

Gregg August

Instructor of String Bass
Director of Jazz Combos

gregg.august@uconn.edu

John Mastroianni, MA

John Mastroianni

Assistant Professor in Residence of Jazz Studies
Director of UConn Jazz Ensemble
john.mastroianni@uconn.edu
(860) 486-4796

E.J. Strickland

E.J. Strickland

Instructor of Jazz Drum Set
enochjamal@gmail.com

ACADEMIC FACULTY


Joseph Abramo, EdD

Joseph Abramo, EdD

Assistant Professor of Music Education
joseph.abramo@uconn.edu
(860) 486-2561

Melinda Fields, MM

Melinda Fields, MM

Instructor of Fundamentals
sara.m.fields@uconn.edu

Kenneth Fuchs, DMA

Kenneth Fuchs, DMA

Professor of Music Composition
kenneth.fuchs@uconn.edu
(860) 486-4711

Peter Kaminsky, PhD

Peter Kaminsky

Professor of Music Theory
Associate Department Head for Undergraduate Studies
peter.kaminsky@uconn.edu
860-486-2758

Jesús Ramos-Kittrell, PhD

Jesús Ramos-Kittrell, PhD

Assistant Professor in Residence or Music History and Ethnomusicology
jesus.ramos-kittrell@uconn.edu
(860) 486-5470

Ronald Squibbs, PhD

Ronald Squibbs

Associate Professor of Music Theory
Associate Department Head for Graduate Studies
ronald.squibbs@uconn.edu
860-486-2478

Cara Bernard, EdD

Cara Bernard, EdD

Assistant Clinical Professor of Music Education
cara.bernard@uconn.edu
(860) 486-2561

Alain Frogley, DPhil

Alain Frogley

Coordinator of Graduate Studies
Professor of Music History
alain.frogley@uconn.edu
(860) 486-4783

Daniel Goldberg, PhD

Daniel Goldberg, PhD

Assistant Professor in Residence of Music Theory
daniel.goldberg@uconn.edu
860-486-5374

Wayne Pierce, DMA

Wayne Pierce

Adjunct Instructor
wayne.pierce@uconn.edu

Eric Rice, PhD

Eric Rice

Department Head
Associate Professor of Music History
Director of Collegium Musicum

eric.rice@uconn.edu
(860) 486-3728

Robert Stephens, PhD

Robert Stephens

Professor of World Music
robert.stephens@uconn.edu
860-486-5760

REGIONAL CAMPUS FACULTY


Kirsten Peterson

Kirsten Peterson

Heather DeSavage, PhD

Heather DeSavage, PhD

Adjunct Professor
heather.desavage@uconn.edu
(860) 486-3971

Daniel Salazar Jr.

Daniel Salazar Jr.

Christopher Shay, MMT

Christopher Shay, MMT

Adjunct Professor
christopher.shay@uconn.edu
(203) 592-8659

EMERITUS FACULTY


Glenn Stanley, PhD

Glenn Stanley

Professor Emeritus of Music History
glenn.stanley@uconn.edu

Richard Bass, PhD

Richard Bass, PhD

Professor Emeritus of Music Theory
richard.bass@uconn.edu